Do You Know Your Wheat?

Wheat grown in the United States is classified into five major types, based on the feel of the grain, the color of the kernel and the time of planting. Here's an overview of each type.

Soft Red Winter Wheat

  • Planted in the fall and harvested in the early summer.
  • Grown predominately in Ohio, Missouri, Indiana, Illinois, and Pennsylvania.
  • Used for cookies, cakes, crackers, and pastries.

Hard Red Winter Wheat

  • Planted in the fall, germinate, become dormant over winter, and begin growing again in spring.
  • Grown primarily in Kansas, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Texas, and Colorado.
  • Used for pan breads, pizza crusts, rolls, and hearth breads.

Hard Red Spring Wheat

  • Planted in early spring and harvested in late summer or early fall.
  • Grown primarily in northern states, including Montana, North and South Dakota, and Minnesota.
  • Used for hearth breads, bagels, and variety breads.

Hard and Soft White Wheats

  • A class of wheat growing in predominance over the past few years.
  • Features a slightly lighter bran coat than the red wheats counterparts.
  • Grown primarily in the Pacific Northwest, New York, and Michigan.
  • Used in similar applications as soft and hard red wheats.

Durum Wheat

  • High in protein, with unique gluten qualities that deliver high strength but minimal leavening power.
  • Grown primarily in North Dakota, South Dakota, and Minnesota.
  • Most used in the production of pastas.